Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    greece
    Age
    41
    Posts
    17
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Unhelpful posts from thread:"IMPORTANT! If you want HELP in case of a bricked Garmin device.."

    upload a photo to see what it says to updater.exe
    when you are trying to load the software with updater.exe

  2.    Advertissements


  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    greece
    Age
    41
    Posts
    17
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    upload a photo from your pc I want to see what he says to you When you try to install the software again with updater.exe what message does your computer get

  4. #3
    Pro-Member Butters's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    275
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    @kostas.vl
    His device will no longer power on so he can't attain preboot. Look at Post #58 for his error message. it's "IOU_UTILITIES".
    Quote Originally Posted by hancock View Post
    I can't seem to figure out how to insert a screen shot. Here's the message text:

    App: Updater
    At: 11/9/2017 7:08:32 AM (UTC)
    OS: WIN32 Windows Platform, Major Version: 6, Minor Version: 1 Service Pack 1
    Processor: Pentium Pro or Pentium II, RAM: 4194303 KB
    IOU_UTILITIES.CPP-203-2.8

    Other than the date and time, I get the exact same message every time I run.

    I'm running 64 bit Windows 7 (version 6.1.7601) on a Core i7.

    Since I don't know what updater is doing, I don't know that the GPS is disconnecting before the flash is complete or not - it gets as far as the first screen in your post #48 in [Only registered and activated users can see links. ], and it looks just like your screenshot showing "100% Complete, 0.0 remaining". It's just that the ding dong sounds right about the same time as that screen comes up and then everything waits until updater times out and displays the error message.
    That means that 'LOADER' does not even start so it can be a really bad problem. Sometimes it's transitory however. Regardless the device has since died and won't power on so the problem cannot be replicated so there's no way for him to take a photo to upload.

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    greece
    Age
    41
    Posts
    17
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    post #48 in How to unbrick a nüvi - step by step guide ,(If the connection drops/device loses preboot then an error message with details)
    this image comes out???the window with the error!!
    if he turns out this window this is corrected in a minute!!
    please confirm( Butters )

  6. #5
    Pro-Member Butters's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    275
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    I don't know why or even what you are expecting me to 'confirm'. His device has since DIED, it won't power on. Whatever he previously experienced in preboot/flashing is now entirely moot unless the device revives.

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    greece
    Age
    41
    Posts
    17
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Okay, I understand what's going on (if you want my help)
    Well.... if the loader does not start with the updater.exe, the pc must be properly set up, otherwise you can not see the gps .( so I can not reload the software on gps ).
    pc setting :1 control panel. 2 Programs and Features. 3 enable or disable the windows features. 4 click all the boxes to activate. 5 restart on pc.
    now the pc can see the gps!!!with the updater.exe, and can be reloaded the firmware , either original either cure.

    if the gps has not written for some reason properly the firmware
    again with updater.exe.......(I do not know if he wants the forum here I publish the way it is done???) I stop here.

  8. #7
    Pro-Member Butters's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    275
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kostas.vl View Post
    Okay, I understand what's going on......
    Sorry, no you clearly don't.

    ....(if you want my help)
    We welcome all relevant help.

    Well.... if the loader does not start with the updater.exe, the pc must be properly set up, otherwise you can not see the gps .( so I can not reload the software on gps ).
    pc setting :1 control panel. 2 Programs and Features. 3 enable or disable the windows features. 4 click all the boxes to activate. 5 restart on pc.
    now the pc can see the gps!!!with the updater.exe, and can be reloaded the firmware , either original either cure.

    if the gps has not written for some reason properly the firmware
    again with updater.exe.......
    That's not relevant to a dead device anyway. Further Loader function of the device is not dependent on how the Windows feature are set up on the PC. It's initiated by Updater.exe in preboot mode. Regardless, the device must be able to POWER ON to go into preboot before Updater.exe can access it to flash it.

    ..... (I do not know if he wants the forum here I publish the way it is done???) I stop here.
    Please publish whatever you want to publish here as long as it's relevant and helpful. The first problem to overcome is how to revive the dead device so can you help with that?

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    greece
    Age
    41
    Posts
    17
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    at Post #54 does not say he is dead!!!!!! (( (9) Yes, I can get into preboot mode and the GPS connects to the PC (dong ding), but the GPS does not show up as a connected drive/device. It will stay in preboot mode for about 40 seconds before disconnecting (ding dong) if I don't run Cure3.))

    at Post #62 and at Post #68 there is the problem. now the GPS sees the mistake firmware so it can not be opened. this corrected only so:

    1 pc setting as I mentioned before.
    2 the 109101000781.rgn will be changed HWID 1101 with the RGN_TOOL. save the new one 109101000781.rgn with the new one HWID.
    3 with the. updater.exe ( always me preboot mode ) the new one 109101000781.rgn with the new one HWID.( only this will see the gps for installation.) let it do installation and will erase that stupidity has done.
    4 now can get the right firmware with the right one HWID and install it with to updater.exe ( always me preboot mode ).and he will come to life.

    this is the only way.( and only with the latest firmware which he put in and then blocked)

  10. #9
    Pro-Member Butters's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    275
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    @kostas.vl
    Post #68:
    Quote Originally Posted by hancock View Post
    ..............
    8. Now the unit won't even turn on. I even opened it up and disconnected the battery for several minutes to try to force a reset.
    Maybe you have a crystal ball, or you're assuming for some unknown reason that he overrode the HWID to 1101. He was told only to override the SW Version to 781. It would have indeed been 'stupidity' (your word) to also intentionally override the HWID. He doesn't come across as stupid in his postings, quite the contrary.

    Please explain how you can reach preboot mode in a device that WON'T turn on.

  11. #10
    Master
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    24
    Rep Power
    82

    Default

    @kostas.vl
    It's just advice.
    You should not publish here the instructions of the meaning of which you apparently do not understand yourself. This can harm users.

 

 
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.