Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 26 of 26
  1. #21
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    greece
    Age
    41
    Posts
    17
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    just installed to firmware from 430 astro the 320 astro and links to pc, he will see it 430 or not???
    so if pc sees the 320 as 430, can install again the 320 firmware?????
    it is proven that this will become??????I am wrong, I say something absurd???
    so what are we doing now?we send it to garmin?

  2.    Advertissements


  3. #22
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    greece
    Age
    41
    Posts
    17
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by osiris4isis View Post
    So you believe the problem was it "look dead" and not really what user said "dead*?" That is possible, but my question is not about that. The question was very specific about the replied of "not public" Why not answer what Butters asked but instead said "not public", which confused a lot of people including me. Are you using google translate from Greek to English?

    * From user "8. Now the unit won't even turn on. I even opened it up and disconnected the battery for several minutes to try to force a reset."

    Are you using google translate from Greek to English? yes

  4. #23
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    greece
    Age
    41
    Posts
    17
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    again you did not understand what I told you
    let's not continue
    but I tell you kai but you understand

  5. #24
    Pro-Member Butters's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    269
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    @kostas.vl
    I think that osiris4isis understands perfectly what you're saying and so do I. It's not that we don't understand what you told us. it's that what you told doesn't make sense in the context of a non-responsive DEAD device (dead device =no signs either visual or audible when attempting to power-on or when connected to computer). It's you who either doesn't understand or you're simply continuing to stubbornly try to change the discussion to something else and in the process some users reading those answers may be very confused.

    So, still you don't answer, because you can't:
    Quote Originally Posted by Butters View Post
    .........
    Please explain how you can reach preboot mode in a device that WON'T turn on.
    Enough of this nonsense of comparing apples and oranges anyway. It seems that somehow our Greek friend thinks that 'look dead' and 'is dead' mean exactly the same.

    A device with a blank screen yet still recognized in Windows with 'ding dong' sound and showing in Device Manager is IN NO WAY comparable to a device which is totally unresponsive when connected. A device recognized in Device Manager IS NOT DEAD ...PERIOD! A device which cannot turn-on and isn't recognized in Device Manager because it cannot be put into preboot also CANNOT BE FLASHED ...PERIOD!

    Flashing foreign firmware to unalike hardware either with or without overriding HWID is indeed total 'stupidity' [his word from Post #80 referring to something that Hancock didn't do to his Nuvi anyway, yet Kostas.vl has apparently done something incredibly silly with an Astro 320 by flashing it with Astro 430 fw and is quite lucky not to have hard-bricked it].

    Better when you make a mistake to just admit it rather than try to explain your way out of it by writing things that don't make sense or are unrelated to the problem. Every human makes mistakes, that's acceptable. Not admitting to a mistake is what's unacceptable. Let's move on please.

  6. #25
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    ♀☼♂
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Sorry...delete.

  7. #26
    Important User Unhelpful posts from thread:"IMPORTANT! If you want HELP in case of a bricked Garmin device.."
    Unhelpful posts from thread:"IMPORTANT! If you want HELP in case of a bricked Garmin device.."Unhelpful posts from thread:"IMPORTANT! If you want HELP in case of a bricked Garmin device.."Unhelpful posts from thread:"IMPORTANT! If you want HELP in case of a bricked Garmin device.."Unhelpful posts from thread:"IMPORTANT! If you want HELP in case of a bricked Garmin device.."
    osiris4isis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Darkside of the Moon
    Posts
    2,560
    Rep Power
    570

    Default

    I think translation from non-latin language to english via google is less than desirable. Do not be deceived by Butters "newbie" status, he has a lot of experience with many Garmin devices. Examine his many posts on solutions to many problems and you'll get the idea.
    Also, no need to post consecutively, use the "Edit post" button to add any additional comments. And when replying to a previous post; unless there is a reason, you do not have to quote it.
    Last edited by osiris4isis; 16th November 2017 at 10:42 PM.
    Do not PM me with questions. That's what a forum is for.

 

 
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.