Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26
  1. #11
    Pro-Member Butters's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    315
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Perhaps erasing region 41 would fix it, but that will lose its registration and unlock codes. I regard it as 'last resort' and wouldn't do it solely because of slow boot.

  2.    Advertissements


  3. #12
    Important User

    osiris4isis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Darkside of the Moon
    Posts
    2,662
    Rep Power
    621

    Default

    Better back it up first.
    Do not PM me with questions. That's what a forum is for.

  4. #13
    Pro-Member Butters's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    315
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Lol, thanks. 'Cos maybe San Francisco is greener than he seems .....

  5. #14
    Navigation software expert

    Giomen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Suomi-Russia
    Age
    50
    Posts
    2,397
    Rep Power
    580

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SanFrancisco View Post
    I restored the device to factory default
    zKh04Cr
    That did you keep in mind under restoring of factory default? Due to a huge time of Reset on the screen I think you did not reset device properly. Did you perform to return to default settings in menu only? Or did you make master reset with finger holding on lower left corner when turn on device?

  6. #15
    Member SanFrancisco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    CA, USA
    Posts
    21
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Sorry for the long absence, guys. Have been buried under work, both professionally as well as privately.

    Quote Originally Posted by Butters View Post
    Perhaps erasing region 41 would fix it, but that will lose its registration and unlock codes. I regard it as 'last resort' and wouldn't do it solely because of slow boot.
    Have not tried that yet. Obviously, will backup rgn 41 first before erasing it, as suggested by o4i.

    Quote Originally Posted by Grizzzly View Post
    Did you perform to return to default settings in menu only? Or did you make master reset with finger holding on lower left corner when turn on device?
    The device was reset to factory default by pressing and holding the lower right hand corner of the screen while switching on power.

  7. #16
    Member SanFrancisco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    CA, USA
    Posts
    21
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Unfortunately, erasing rgn 41 did not speed up the boot process. When connected to Garmin Express, its entitlement to Lifetime Mapupdates is still recognised though.

    Apart having to go through screen calibration, entering the locale and waiting for first satellite fix at first boot after erasing rgn 41, I notice no difference in behaviour at all. Do I need to restore the original rgn 41 from backup?

  8. #17
    Pro-Member Butters's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    315
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Did you use RMPrepUSB to reformat after applying Cure3 fw, or only remove some dodgy files once you had Mass Storage Mode back? If there was no format done I'd suggest make a backup of the file system and reformat it then restore the folder and files. You may as well restore region 41 too seeing it didn't alter the boot time.

  9. #18
    Important User

    osiris4isis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Darkside of the Moon
    Posts
    2,662
    Rep Power
    621

    Default

    Make sure your backup of 41 was successful and file is not empty. Restoring an empty 41 is bad.
    Do not PM me with questions. That's what a forum is for.

  10. #19
    Pro-Member Butters's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    315
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Not questioning your knowledge there but can you explain how restoring an empty bin file to region 41 is different to erasing with ergn command? The device rewrites most information to 41 on every boot anyway.

  11. #20
    Important User

    osiris4isis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Darkside of the Moon
    Posts
    2,662
    Rep Power
    621

    Default

    If 41 is "regenerated" then no big deal. But in general, you backup something so you can restored it later (I mean why backed it up in the first place) Engineers (good ones) often "clear" memory area before "restoring". Just like in programming if you allocate memory, you should "zeroed" it before using. So if your 41 is empty and you restored it, what you get is zeroed memory area.
    Last edited by osiris4isis; 20th November 2017 at 01:31 AM.
    Do not PM me with questions. That's what a forum is for.

 

 
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.