Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.
Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 83
  1. #51
    Navigation software expert turboccc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    377
    Rep Power
    123

    Default

    .sum files are checksum files. Do not bother with them. Do as if they did not exist. You can even delete them if you want.

    As I said, the voice name is in the language ID byte inside the non-TTS VPM file. Renaming the VPM will not make the voice appear as that name. Instead, the language ID byte inside the VPM will tell the GPS what name should appear in the Voice menu. Renaming Cartman to Korea will make the Korea voice disappear (because you deleted the original that had the language ID for Korean), but Cartman is still there and you can probably hear it if you select English_American. To be sure, delete the English_American_.VPM file or change its extension to something else than .VPM. After reboot, you may still see English_American in the Voice menu, but it will be your Cartman voice speaking. Note: I assume here that Cartman has the language ID for English American which is probably the case.
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  2.    Advertissements


  3. #52
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Age
    34
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by turboccc View Post
    .sum files are checksum files. Do not bother with them. Do as if they did not exist. You can even delete them if you want.

    As I said, the voice name is in the language ID byte inside the non-TTS VPM file. Renaming the VPM will not make the voice appear as that name. Instead, the language ID byte inside the VPM will tell the GPS what name should appear in the Voice menu. Renaming Cartman to Korea will make the Korea voice disappear (because you deleted the original that had the language ID for Korean), but Cartman is still there and you can probably hear it if you select English_American. To be sure, delete the English_American_.VPM file or change its extension to something else than .VPM. After reboot, you may still see English_American in the Voice menu, but it will be your Cartman voice speaking. Note: I assume here that Cartman has the language ID for English American which is probably the case.
    Is there any way to edit the language ID byte? I would rather get rid of the Korea voice (or any other one for that matter) and keep the American..

  4. #53
    Navigation software expert turboccc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    377
    Rep Power
    123

    Default

    yes, byte 18 (or 0012 hex). If you open similar non-TTS voices, like English_British_.VPM, you will see its language ID byte. If you open the Korean voice, you will see its ID. Write that number and change it in your Cartman.VPM voice.

    Different languages have different phrases in different order. Changing the language ID may speak the wrong phrases at the wrong time. You will see it very fast if it works or not by simulating a trip in simulation mode.
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  5. #54
    Member +
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    47
    Rep Power
    30

    Default

    Tried everything, just cant get Cartman to work on the 775T, theres no voice at all coming from the 775T when I select English American (the renamed cartman voice).
    Tried renaming Cartman to English_American_.vpn, and also renaming it to the origional English_American_ that I luckily backed up, but it gave no voice at all.
    I wonder if it is connected in some way with some other file within the Voice Folder?

    Its not that important as I still have all the Garmin voices, but just thought it might be cool to have Cartman telling me where to go than the usual boring Garmin voices.

  6. #55
    Navigation software expert turboccc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    377
    Rep Power
    123

    Default

    @EIcojo,

    I have Cartman here, but post me a link to your file. I will have a look. I will also try it on my 3750. Unless you have a very old firmware on your 775T, it should work.
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  7. #56
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Up Here
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Pig Porker Garmin Voice

    Makes you laugh.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  8. #57
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Aus
    Posts
    9
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    If any of you want to install more TTS voices or TTS in other language in your Garmin device, but cannot do that by using web updater, now there is a solution.
    I googled for solution and found the following:

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Although it's a bit old, the way described in the thread still applies. I've sucessfully installed British Emily v1.5 in this way

  9. #58
    Master
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    UK
    Age
    30
    Posts
    230
    Rep Power
    120

    Default Got Voice files but not sure what to do with them

    I was sent some voice files in .wav form last year that someone thought would be good for my gps I was planning on getting.
    There is about 200 .wav files with different words in not really any order.
    The voice is of Peter Dickson (the voiceover man that does many shows on uk tv like XFactor here is his voice [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] )
    I would love to compile it into a format that my Garmin 1300 would understand and use.

    As I said not in order, like file 001 says "Left", file 002 says "eight", file 003 says "you have arrived now that was easy was'nt it!"

    Is the way words are listed in a specific order for a garmin, as how does it know what words to say.

    Can anyone advise?
    Last edited by urbexuk; 20th May 2011 at 17:05.

  10. #59
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Taiwan
    Age
    28
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I bought the nuvi 760 in Taiwan and the software is 3.70. I installed the voices such as Thai_vpm and Dansk_vpm,but when I turn on the device,it always shows "incompatible audio version";however,I installed PIGTones-Piggly-Porker.vpm,it work very good. I am confused why some voices couldn't work on my nuvi 760.Does anyone can help me?
    Last edited by f88026679; 12th August 2011 at 03:26.

  11. #60
    Master Celso Maximino Josť's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    108
    Rep Power
    121

    Default Incompatible audio version

    I will strengthen the question: my GPS nuvi 1455 (from China). Appears the same message ("incompatible audio version") when I put the voice of Rachel TTS. In the voice folder contains: Rachel Portuguese_Brasilian - VPM file, file Brasilian Portuguese VPM and still the file Portuguese_Brasilian SUM. The maps work perfectly in Brazil, only missing the voice.
    Looking some help.
    Celso

 

 
Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.