Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    0

    Default 1490T Route selection changes with 5.7

    I have a 1490T with European maps which I have just updated to firmware 5.7.
    The route selection appears to have drastically changed, so much so that at first I thought the device was broken and used direct routing instead.
    In the past a route was calculated and saved for future use using the route editor. Selecting 'Routes' displayed the saved list of routes. When a route was selected it was loaded and a GO button was displayed for starting the route.
    Now it appears that when the route is selected, instead of displaying a GO button, the edit screen comes up. Scrolling down to the lower part of the edit screen 'View Map' is shown as a selection. If this is pressed then a map with a GO button is shown which, if pressed, starts the route.

    Is this normal for 5.7? I've not seen any mention of it in the 5.7 update appraisals.
    I have reverted back to 5.4 and the 'feature?' has gone away.
    I can't believe that Garmin thinks that adding an extra two key presses and hiding the route start button off the first screen behind an ambiguously titled selection button is a step forward.

  2.    Advertissements


  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    29
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Have you wrote about the feature described in the post by sussamb
    Code:
    Please Login or Register to see the links
    My opinion that it's better than it was befor.

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    That's the one, thanks for finding it.
    So at least I know it's not a fault! I couldn't find anything in this forum about it.
    I've done a little software design in my time and that interface is terrible.
    Why assume that a route that has already been input and saved previously always needs to be changed immediately before use?
    Why hide the instruction to 'Go on the route' behind an instruction labelled 'View Map', that isn't even visible on the menu?
    Why not have the top line as 'Go' followed by either all of the editing selections or, even better, a selection button labelled 'Edit'?

 

 

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.